Conversation with a Deconverter

The following is part of a Series called Conversation with a Deconverter.

Hi all,

Mia replied to my first question which can be found on this site here. Since we have at least one person who is okay with that question, I’m going to move on to the next. I have a strategy here and my goal is Truth. This is not a debate, but a quest.

Here is Mia’s reply to Question Number One:

Kir, given only those two choices, I think the answer is obvious if the respodant is being honest. Honestly, clearly there is no magical professor dropping candy down chimneys and the reason children might believe this is because of the “A” effect.

Okay,  for anyone who wants to answer, just answer by leaving a comment. So here goes Question Number Two:

Suppose I’m in a parking lot and am suddenly surrounded by several people claiming to be The One, True Police Officer. But suppose each one is giving me orders none of which are compatible? Well, which one then is The One, True Police Officer?

What could I ask to figure out which one is The One, True Police Officer?

I mean, clearly, I want to obey legitimate authority, and if all of them are giving me contradictory orders, I really want to know who The One True Police Officer is. And if I only knew, I would take no issue whatsoever with obeying them, because I certainly would want to obey The One True Police Officer.

So, that’s what I would like to ask you:

How do I know that any one Police Officer is The One, True Police Officer?

– kk

Go to Question Number Three

7 comments
  1. Hey, I’m hung up on this question. Are you saying that I can’t tell which cop is the real cop because they all look the same? So, why couldn’t I ask for credentials? Even if they are in uniform they must have an id that shows them to be a real cop, right?
    ~ Mia

  2. Mia – yea, you could ask for their id because they are all dressed exactly the same. And they are all claiming to be The One, True Police Officer. But what you find is that their ids also check out. And, I’d add, they are all giving you conflicting commands, so pushing the id issue beyond that is only going to result in getting in trouble. They’ve done all they are required to do to identify themselves. So, what to do?
    – kk

    • Sorry, guess I should reply here?
      Hey, okay, if I really had to *know*, then I’d walk up to each one, one by one, and do whatever I had to do to make them arrest me. Something non-violent. Maybe I’d be lewd or something but only the real cop could arrest me and take me to the real jail. Ha!! Smoke that.
      ~ Mia

      • Mia – ha, yes, very good answer. But what if they were so good at this gig that even the jail officials believed their id? What if they could fool just about anyone? What then?
        – kk

        • Hey, okay, then this is a weird question. These guys (and gals I guess) are so good at this I can’t really tell? And I guess that is your point? Obviously, if they really are this good then there is no way for me to know.
          I would obey none of them, but then go to jail anyway. So, I don’t know of any good answer to this.
          ~ Mia

          • Mia – yep, that is the point. If they are so good they can fool most, or even just a lot of people, we have a serious, serious problem on our hands because we’ll go to jail if we don’t identify the right one. I think you’ve answered the question about as best as it can be. Anyone else can chime in if they like.
            – kk

  3. Hey, okay, if I really had to *know*, then I’d walk up to each one, one by one, and do whatever I had to do to make them arrest me. Something non-violent. Maybe I’d be lewd or something 😉 but only the real cop could arrest me and take me to the real jail. Ha!! Smoke that.
    ~ Mia

Leave a Reply

